Erica's Cocina

Lets have some fun making some AWESOME and authentic Mexican Food

Enchilada Day!!! January 27, 2010

Filed under: Cooking — ericascocina @ 10:39 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

When I woke up today, I was ecstatic to see what a wonderful morning it was. The past week here in The City of Angels was rather cold and wet, so waking up to see that the Sun had finally broken through gave me quite the bit of joy. So much so, I thought today is a perfect day to make some Chicken Enchiladas. Enchiladas always remind me of Summer weekends spent with my family. All 421 of them… what!! I’m Mexican and darn proud of having 12 aunts and uncles ;O) I remember how we would all sit outside enjoying stories we’d all heard a thousand times, told 6 different ways, by 4 different people, while embracing the smell of the California chili, garlic, and rice in air. I can close my eyes right now and see everyone enjoying each other’s company and laughter as we all devoured each tortilla smothered in enchilada sauce with chicken rolled inside of it; topped with lettuce, Mexican sour cream, salsa, and cotija cheese. On the side, we always had some Mexican rice with it. YUMMY…. although my personal trainer recently told me I should start cutting back on my carbs if I know what’s good for me. Damn her. Damn her I Say ;O)
Sooo with all these memories and the sun shining, I ran to Fresh N Easy, grabbed  some chicken, California chili pods, tortillas, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, sour cream, and cotija cheese. All of this for under 20 bucks!!! Doesn’t get better than that! Not only is this dish amazingly good, but also during these difficult times it is also pretty darn economical. 2 Gold Stars for me yay!

 

Leave a Reply

