Erica's Cocina

Lets have some fun making some AWESOME and authentic Mexican Food

My New Little Herb Garden ;O) February 4, 2010

Filed under: Cooking — ericascocina @ 12:13 AM
Tags: , ,

One of the things I really missed when I decided to move out on my own was being able to go outside and snip the herbs I needed for cooking or just making a nice relaxing tea. I had forgotten how spoiled I felt by only using fresh herbs and enjoying their fresh aroma while I chopped them up or boiled them in water for some tea. We always had cilantro, hierba Buena, oregano, basil, ruda, chilis, lemon/lime trees, nopales, tomatoes, etc…. Pretty much anything that was used for cooking and could grow in a back yard we had readily available. Then when I moved out on my own, all of that was taken away :O(.  I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I would start to make something to eat and the cilantro I bought a couple of days ago had started to wilt. Not good at all! I found myself going to the store almost 4 or 5 days out of the week just to make sure what I used was fresh.

So, it’s new year and I thought to myself enough, was enough.  I decided to go to the garden center and buy one of those large individual pots and try to grow my own little apartment garden. Despite not having much of a green thumb,  I cannot cook any longer without freshly picked herbs. Three years of that is long enough! I admit a slight feeling of joy buzzed through my little tummy as I walked down each isle looking for all the herbs my grandma used to grow in her garden… cilantro, oregano, spicy oregano (yes I LOVE oregano), mint, rosemary, chives, parsley, and basil. I felt like a kid in a candy store sniffing every herb, making sure I was picking out the best of the best. As I was driving home, I could not stop smiling and taking in deep breaths smelling my own little piece of heaven. I placed them right outside our balcony where they can get lots of fresh air and sunshine. Now all I have to do is reach outside our sliding door to snip whatever it is I need. I am sooo excited about this. Finally, my own little herb garden… not THAT kind of herb garden. Be nice!!! ;O)


 

5 Responses to “My New Little Herb Garden ;O)”

  1. One of the sites I found had some great information on herbs and was really insightful. Its really difficult to find good info

  2. I’m so glad to have found your web page. My pal mentioned it to me before, yet never got around to checking it out until now. I must express, I’m floored. I really enjoyed reading through your posts and will absolutely be back to get more.

  3. Considerably, the post is in reality the greatest on this valuable topic. I agree with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your forthcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the wonderful lucidity in your writing. I will immediately grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Pleasant work and much success in your business endeavors!

  4. Stanley Kut Says:

    You know, I gotta tell you, I genuinely savor this blog and the great insight. I find it to be refreshful and very enlightening. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyhow, I felt it was about time I posted a comment on My New Little Herb Garden ;O) Erica's Cocina – I just wanted to say that you did a nice job on this. Cheers dude!


Leave a Reply

